(Almost) A Full Taylormade Bag

Well, I took the plunge and bought a new set of irons to update the Ap2 710’s that were about 5 years old. I had been trying differing sets for about 3 months and was anxious to hit the new Titleist AP2’s and the Ping S55’s. I got to hit the Pings at the PGA Tour SuperStore in Palo Alto and hit them pretty well.  I found a demo of the AP2’s at Golf Mart and hit it ok, but there just really wasn’t that much difference from the 710’s in terms of feel and distance. SO I kept looking…

While I was in the San Jose Golfsmith, checking out the remodel, i picked up a  TaylorMade Rocketbladez 7-iron with a M flex graphite shaft from the demo rack and checked it out on their flight scope launch monitor. I hit 10 balls and I see that i am averaging about 195 yards with this 7-iron, with very nice trajectory and very tight dispersion

Speedbladez_wide

area, about 10 yards Plus or Minus from the center line. I ask the closest golf caddy and find out that the M stands for “Mature” or Senior flex.. wow.. maybe i can get away with this shaft, very whippy at the tip and the ball just jumped off the face.

Since I had a couple of gift cards from my GC Am Tour and NCGA eclub Championship winnings, I headed over to Golf Mart in Dublin after a round at Callippe and worked with Jake.  I hit the Rocketbladez and the newer Speedblades with both the steel and graphite shafts. After about an hour I walked out with the Speedblades in Stiff 75G Velox T Graphite. I traded off the Mizuno’s for this set to cover some of the costs as well. 

Speedblade_7_Sole

These irons now round out my gamer bag along with an RBZ Tour 10.5* driver, the R11 4 wood, an Adams 3 Hybrid, Ping Tour-W Wedges and an Odyssey Pro Black 2-Ball mallet putter. I can’t wait to get a few rounds under them and then write up a new club review.

This entry was posted in Equipment, Gear. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

